Deal facts
- Buyer
- Co-operative Group Limited
- Target
- Southern Co-operative Limited
- Deal value
- Not disclosed
- Announced
- 4 June 2026
- Status
- In review
- Sector
- Consumer & Retail
- Country
- United Kingdom
- Consideration
- Not stated
Sources
Co-operative Group Limited has agreed to acquire Southern Co-operative Limited in a strategic acquisition within the Consumer & Retail sector. Both entities are based in the United Kingdom, with the transaction announced on 4 June 2026. The deal involves the purchase of the target company by the buyer, though the specific financial consideration and deal value have not been disclosed to the public. No details regarding the form of payment or specific regulatory conditions have been reported at this stage.
The transaction remains in the possible offer phase as the parties have not yet reached a finalised agreement. Southern Co-operative Limited continues to operate independently while the potential acquisition is under discussion. The deal is subject to further negotiations and potential regulatory scrutiny before any completion can occur. The transaction is subject to regulatory approval.
More M&A Tools
Explore the Toolkit
Tools, frameworks and AI assistants designed for entrepreneurs serious about M&A.
Access nowDeal timeline
1 update- CMA Phase 1 launched
Co-operative Group / Southern Co-operative merger inquiry
The Competition and Markets Authority (CMA) is seeking views on the anticipated acquisition by Co-operative Group Limited of Southern Co-operative Limited. Statutory timetable Phase 1 Action 4 June 2026 to 18 June 2026 Invitation to comment (*) (*) The CMA is inviting comments from any interested party. This case page will be updated when the CMA formally commences
UK CMA
Explore
Browse adjacent archives
Jump from this deal into the sector, buyer, deal type, and year views that carry the strongest contextual signal.
Similar deals
Similar deals
Other Consumer & Retail M&A activity tracked by Exit Mode.
PORTOBELLO to acquire SUAVINEX BEABA GROUP
PORTOBELLO has agreed to acquire SUAVINEX BEABA GROUP in a strategic acquisition. The transaction was announced on 6 October 2026. Both entities operate within the Consu…
- Buyer
- PORTOBELLO
- Target
- SUAVINEX BEABA GROUP
- Deal value
- Not disclosed
- Deal type
- strategic acquisition
Aford Awards Group Holdings Limited to acquire A J Sharp Limited
Aford Awards Group Holdings Limited has agreed to acquire A J Sharp Limited in a strategic acquisition completed on 25 September 2026. The transaction, which was announc…
- Buyer
- Aford Awards Group Holdings Limited
- Target
- A J Sharp Limited
- Deal value
- GBP 3,450,000
- Deal type
- strategic acquisition
L CATTERTON to acquire ALTAS
L CATTERTON has agreed to acquire ALTAS in a strategic acquisition. The transaction was announced on 27 September 2026. Both entities operate within the Consumer and Ret…
- Buyer
- L CATTERTON
- Target
- ALTAS
- Deal value
- Not disclosed
- Deal type
- strategic acquisition
Stack BTC Plc to acquire DB London Ltd t/a Direct Bullion
Stack BTC Plc has agreed to acquire DB London Ltd t/a Direct Bullion in a strategic acquisition valued at £7 million. The transaction involves a headline offer considera…
- Buyer
- Stack BTC Plc
- Target
- DB London Ltd t/a Direct Bullion
- Deal value
- GBP 7,000,000
- Deal type
- strategic acquisition
EPG to acquire FNAC DARTY GROUP
EPG has agreed to acquire FNAC DARTY GROUP in a strategic acquisition within the consumer and retail sector. The deal was announced on 13 September 2026. The transaction…
- Buyer
- EPG
- Target
- FNAC DARTY GROUP
- Deal value
- Not disclosed
- Deal type
- strategic acquisition
Buyer history
Co-operative Group Limited
See every published Exit Mode archive entry where this buyer appears.
View buyer profileMethodology
How this page is built
Layer 1 facts come from source documents, Layer 2 turns those facts into a readable narrative, and Layer 3 only appears where the editorial team flags a founder-relevant deal.
Back to the archive