In reviewFinancial Services20 August 2026

FirstCash Holdings Inc. to acquire Ramsdens Holdings PLC

Verified deal facts, source-backed narrative, and the Exit Mode founder lens for SME readers preparing to sell.

Deal facts

Buyer
FirstCash Holdings Inc.
Target
Ramsdens Holdings PLC
Deal value
Not disclosed
Announced
20 August 2026
Status
In review
Sector
Financial Services
Country
United Kingdom
Consideration
Not stated
What we know

FirstCash Holdings Inc has agreed to acquire Ramsdens Holdings PLC in a strategic acquisition within the financial services sector. The target company operates from Great Britain, while the buyer is based in the United States. This transaction represents a cross-border expansion for the American lender into the UK market. The deal was announced on 20 August 2026. No specific financial terms or consideration types were disclosed at the time of the announcement. The reported value remains not disclosed by the parties involved.

The acquisition aims to integrate Ramsdens’ pawnbroking and loan services with FirstCash’s existing portfolio. This move allows the buyer to diversify its revenue streams and geographic reach. The target brings an established network of retail locations and a loyal customer base in the UK. FirstCash intends to leverage its operational expertise to enhance the efficiency and profitability of the acquired business. The transaction is currently subject to regulatory approval and other customary closing conditions. The status remains rumoured as the parties continue negotiations. Further details regarding the integration plan are expected to be released once the deal is finalised.

More M&A Tools

Explore the Toolkit

Tools, frameworks and AI assistants designed for entrepreneurs serious about M&A.

Access now

Deal timeline

1 update
  1. CMA Phase 1 launched

    FirstCash / Ramsdens merger inquiry

    The Competition and Markets Authority (CMA) is seeking views on the anticipated acquisition by FirstCash Holdings Inc. of Ramsdens Holdings PLC. Statutory timetable Phase 1 Action 20 August 2026 to 4 September 2026 Invitation to comment (*) (*) The CMA is inviting comments from any interested party. This case page will be updated when the CMA formally commences its

    UK CMA

Explore

Browse adjacent archives

Jump from this deal into the sector, buyer, deal type, and year views that carry the strongest contextual signal.

Similar deals

Similar deals

Other Financial Services M&A activity tracked by Exit Mode.

Buyer history

FirstCash Holdings Inc.

See every published Exit Mode archive entry where this buyer appears.

View buyer profile

Methodology

How this page is built

Layer 1 facts come from source documents, Layer 2 turns those facts into a readable narrative, and Layer 3 only appears where the editorial team flags a founder-relevant deal.

Back to the archive